Make a Difference in ArLiSNAP: Become the next ArLiSNAP Co-Moderator!

Art Library Students and New ARLIS Professionals (ArLiSNAP) seeks candidates for its next Co-Moderator.

 

The Co-Moderator position is an opportunity for a student or new professional to develop their leadership skills while providing a valuable service to ARLIS/NA. ArLiSNAP’s next Co-Moderator will serve a term of two years, working alongside ArLiSNAP’s current 2013-2015 Co-Moderator, Ellen Tisdale.

 

Co-Moderator responsibilities include advancing the concerns of students and new professionals within ARLIS/NA, facilitating special projects, organizing ArLiSNAP’s annual meeting activities for the national ARLIS/NA conference, and contributing to the organization of other conference forums such as the Emerging Technology Forum. The future Co-Moderator will be heavily involved with the administration of the ArLiSNAP blog and social media accounts, and will serve as a representative and liaison between ArLiSNAP and other groups within, and outside, ARLIS/NA.  Candidates do not need to be present at the Washington conference in order to run.

 

To announce your candidacy, please comment on this post with a short biography, including the merits you would bring to this position, your professional or educational experience, and your thoughts on future goals for the ArLiSNAP group. Please post your candidacy by Friday, April 18th.

 

Elections will be held using SurveyMonkey from Saturday, April 19th through Wednesday, April 30th. The results will be announced on Thursday, May 1st 2014.

 

If you have questions about the position or the election, please feel free to contact current coordinators, Stephanie Grimm or Ellen Tisdale.

6 Comments on “Make a Difference in ArLiSNAP: Become the next ArLiSNAP Co-Moderator!”

  1. Ashley Peterson says:

    Hello! My name is Ashley Peterson, and I would like to run for the open ArLiSNAP Co-Moderator position. Though I graduated from library school (the Simmons GSLIS program) in 2008 and have been working as a professional librarian ever since, I am new to the art libraries world. Since October, I have been a librarian at the School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. My primary responsibilities are in visual resource management, reference, and information/visual literacy instruction, but being part of a relatively small staff I also have a hand in access services, cataloging, and managing student workers.

    Prior to the SMFA, I served as Access Services Librarian at Wheelock College (also in Boston) for four years, and before that had a similar position at Pine Manor College (outside of Boston) for almost one year. I have an undergraduate degree in Art History, and throughout my time at Simmons I focused on coursework that would prepare me for art librarianship. I am thrilled to have finally landed my dream job!

    Being new to this subset of the library profession, I am eager to learn and gain experience, as well as meet more of my new colleagues. I am currently serving as VP/President-elect of the ARLIS/NA New England chapter, and will be attending the VRA’s Summer Educational Institute in June. I regret that I will not be able to attend the ARLIS/NA national conference next month, but I look forward to attending next year in Fort Worth.

    I have been a fan/follower of ArLiSNAP since graduate school, and I am very excited by the prospect of becoming more involved. I would bring to the group my skills and experience in outreach and communications, as well as my interest in connecting with emerging/new professionals. As someone who took a somewhat circuitous route to art librarianship (though never lost focus on my goal!), I believe I would be able to offer advice to this cohort, and I would look forward to learning about their fresh perspective on the field. As for future directions for the group, I believe that the ArLiSNAP website could be made an even greater resource for its audience (and possibly beyond), and that connections to emerging art librarians in graduate programs could be strengthened. To address the former point, I loved the recent post about hacking MLIS programs to create a DIY art libraries track, and I would love to see more like this. I’m a big fan of the Hack Library School blog, and I think this site should shamelessly steal some of their ideas! As for connecting with students more directly, I have long dreamed of ARLIS/NA sponsoring, supporting, or otherwise endorsing student interest groups in art librarianship. I was a founding member and later co-chair of such a group at Simmons (Panopticon), and having more of a connection with ARLIS would have been fantastic. I know that’s a big & hairy goal, but absolutely one worth pursuing.

    Thank you for your consideration, and have a great day!

    Like

  2. sadlerabigail says:

    Hello Arlisnappers! My name is Abigail Sadler and I want to announce my candidacy to be one of the next ArliSNAP Co-Moderators. Since last fall I have served as a Discussion Liaison for ArliSNAP. As part of my responsibilities I have worked to facilitate conversations that offer meaningful insight on a wide range of topics important to both students and librarians new to the field. I have greatly enjoyed this role and would love the opportunity to become even more involved through serving as Co-Moderator.

    Here is a little bit of background information about me: I have a B.A. in Art History from Eastern Michigan University and am currently working towards my MLIS with a certificate in archival administration from Wayne State University. I work as a Graduate Student Assistant within the Wayne State University library system where I provide reference services, create libguides for art history courses, and am currently working on processing an archival collection. I also work as an intern at the Detroit Institute of Arts Research Library and Archives. This position has provided me with the amazing opportunity of gaining real life experience working in an art library.

    As Co-Moderator, the merits I would bring to the position include strong communication and organizational skills. Additionally, I would approach the duties of Co-Moderator in ways that are both creative and forward thinking. My goals for the group include continuing the tradition of ArliSNAP being an invaluable resource for both students and emerging professionals in the field. Additionally I would like to focus on outreach, increasing the visibility of the group, seeking out new members and encouraging their participation.

    Thanks so much for considering me as your next ArliSNAP Co-Moderator!

    Like

  3. […] learn more about this exciting opportunity, read this post, and comment to apply. The deadline is Friday, April […]

    Like

  4. Rachel Schend says:

    Hi everyone! My name is Rachel Schend and I would like to add my name to the ballot for the ArLiSNAP Co-Moderator position. I am currently a graduate student pursuing a dual Art History/MLS degree from Indiana University, where I also received my B.A. in Art History. I work at the Fine Arts Library on campus as a Graduate Supervisor overseeing undergraduate workers, providing reference assistance, helping with instructional sessions, performing technical services and compiling titles for collection development in collaboration with studio faculty. I will also be involved in with maintenance for the new FAL website. In addition to this, I am a Graduate Assistant to the Curator of Education at the Indiana University Art Museum. In this position I assist with curriculum-based tours for K-12 and university students as well as research topics such as visual literacy and humanities education.

    I am very enthusiastic about art librarianship and will bring that same enthusiasm to the ArLiSNAP Co-Moderator position. I am involved with various groups on campus which include leadership roles in the Society of Art Librarianship Students (president) and the Art History Association (treasurer and symposium financial chair) which have challenged me to take on major responsibilities. Some of my merits include strong interpersonal and communication skills. The duties for school and my various positions have also made me very organized. I would love to become more involved in ArLiSNAP and ARLIS/NA and feel that my qualifications make me an ideal candidate for ArLiSNAP Co-Moderator.

    Like

  5. […] a look at what our three candidates have to say in the comments on this […]

    Like

  6. […] Have a look at what our three candidates have to say in the comments on this post. […]

    Like