Introducing: Ashley Peterson, ArLiSNAP’s New Student Liaison!

 

AP

Ashley Peterson

 

Hello all! I am a librarian at the School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. I’ve been in this position since October 2013, and so far it’s been wonderful– exactly the sort of job I envisioned for myself when I first decided to attend library school. Since the position is new, it is a bit of a work-in-progress, though my primary areas of responsibility are in research assistance/instruction and visual resource management. My big summer projects include managing our library’s LibGuides adoption, developing library instruction learning objectives and course content for this fall’s first-year English classes, and getting our VR collection up to snuff in terms of digitization, metadata, and preservation best practices (all based on knowledge gained during my amazing experience at SEI this year!). So, you know. Typical lazy summer stuff. My main passion in librarianship is for learning and teaching about the various literacies (information, visual, media, digital, trans-…), in the service of art history and studio art education.

I have a BA in art history, and I absolutely love the immersion in the local arts community that working at an art school affords. When I’m not working with my fabulous colleagues and our crazy talented students, you’ll usually find me eating a sandwich, drinking something gin-or tequila-based, reading something by Edith Wharton or Hilary Mantel, re-learning how to knit socks, feeling too old at some house show, listening to comedy podcasts, or watching a dark auteur TV series with my husband and cat.

 

