A warm welcome to Arielle Cohen, our newest Feature Writer/Discussion Liaison!

Arielle will be joining us as a feature writer, informing us about topics of special interest.

Headshot

Having graduated from Pratt Institute’s School of Information and Library Science this past May, I now hold a Master’s degree in Library Science with a concentration in Special Libraries, as well as an advanced certificate in Archives. This past spring I also attended the 6th International Conference on Qualitative and Quantitative Methods in Libraries in Istanbul. While there, I presented a paper about the effect of digital resources on user experience, a topic in which I continued to be interested, especially as it relates to digital renderings of artworks.

Over the past few years I have had the opportunity to work in a variety of library settings, including the Pace Law School Library, the library at Marvel Comics, and the ABC No Rio Zine Library. Currently, I work as the librarian at Gagosian Gallery in New York City, where I catalog books, provide reference services, and assist in collection development. I am continually provided the opportunity to learn about the art world as I find resources and answer questions for staff members. However, I am essentially a solo librarian, so I look forward to being able to engage you, my fellow art librarians, both established and aspiring, in topics that are currently affecting art librarianship. Thank you to Ellen and Rachel for this opportunity, and I look forward to working with all of you!

