Chapter Award: ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico 2015 Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award

*please excuse cross-postings*

2015 Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award Announcement

(Applications Due: January 12, 2015)

The ARLIS/NA Texas-Mexico Chapter is pleased to announce the 2015 Lois Swan Jones Professional Development Award. This $500 award encourages active involvement of a member of the Texas-Mexico Chapter in the ARLIS/NA 43rd Annual Conference held in Fort Worth, Texas, March 19–23, 2015.

The LSJ award honors the memory of Lois Swan Jones, Professor Emerita of art history at the University of North Texas, by underwriting participation of members of the Texas-Mexico Chapter at the ARLIS/na annual meeting. The award committee urges everyone with interest and need to apply, especially first-time conference attendees. To meet the primary requirement, applicants must lack full institutional funding. Previous winners are eligible. A description of the award, application procedure, and a list of previous recipients are available on the Chapter’s website:

The deadline for applications is Monday, January 12, 2015. The award committee will announce the winner on Monday, January 26, 2015. Direct all inquiries to the 2015 award committee chair: Lynn Wexler (Museum of Fine Arts, Houston). Other members of the 2015 committee are Samuel Duncan (Amon Carter Museum of American Art), Beth Dodd (University of Texas, Austin), and last year’s winner, Alison Larson (University of North Texas).

Submitted by Lynn Wexler, Chair, Lois Swan Jones Award Committee


Lynn Wexler

Reference Librarian

Hirsch Library

MFAH The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston

1001 Bissonnet Street

Houston, TX 77005

  1. 713.353.1510 f. 713.639.7795


Chapter Awards: Announcing the Ohio Valley Travel 2014 Award Winner

The ARLIS/NA Ohio Valley Travel Committee is happy to announce that the Spring 2014 Travel Award has been granted to Anna-Sophia Zingarelli-Sweet, an MLIS student at the University of Pittsburgh. Anna-Sophia has been active in ARLIS/NA since 2012 and was previously a member of the New York Metropolitan chapter. She serves the ArLiSNAP Section as Student Groups Liaison. In addition to participating in chapter and section meetings, workshops, and as a mentee in the Yearlong Career Mentorship Program, Anna-Sophia will present a poster session, “Developing a New Bibliography of Sexuality and Gender in the Fine Arts.”


Congratulations, Anna-Sophia!


Christine Mannix & Betsy Lantz
ARLIS/NA Ohio Valley Travel Award Committee 2014

Chapter Travel Award: REMINDER! Midstates Bunce Travel Award DUE TODAY!

*please excuse cross-postings*

Due Today March 7th!

ARLIS/NA Midstates Chapter 2014 Bunce Travel Award

On behalf of the ARLIS/NA Midstates Chapter, the awards committee is pleased to extend the application for the William C. Bunce Travel Award of $600 for travel to the ARLIS/NA Annual Conference in Washington, DC, May 1-5, 2014. This award is given in honor of William C. Bunce, who served as the Director of the Kohler Art Library at the University of Wisconsin-Madison from 1966 to 1999. The William C. Bunce ARLIS/NA-Midstates Travel Award is intended to support a chapter member’s professional development by providing funding to attend the ARLIS/NA annual conference. Only ARLIS/NA-Midstates Chapter members are eligible. This Travel Award will be granted based on one or more of the following criteria: financial need; level of chapter participation; first-time attendance; and contribution to the conference.

To apply for this award please submit a letter of application, including relevant award criteria, and how you will benefit from attending ARLIS/NA Annual Conference in Washington. You must indicate the level of funding you expect to receive from your institution and include a current resume or CV. Please send applications via email to Viveca Pattison Robichaud (, Marsha Stevenson ( and Sara Stigberg (

The extended application deadline is Friday, March 7th. Recipients will be notified by March 21, 2014. The recipient must confirm in writing that they will be able to use the award for conference attendance and will not be eligible to apply again for three years. After receiving the award, the recipient must submit a short report indicating the value of the award to their professional development activities. This award is intended for members of the ARLIS/NA Midstates Chapter. Information about becoming a member of ARLIS/NA and the regional chapter is available at the ARLIS/NA website ( and the ARLIS/NA-Midstates website (

For additional information please contact a member of the Travel Awards Committee, Viveca Pattison Robichaud (, Marsha Stevenson (, or Sara Stigberg (

Chapter Award: ARLIS/NA Ohio Valley Travel Award

ARLIS/NA Ohio Valley is accepting applications for the Spring 2014 Travel Award!

This year $250 will be awarded to support and encourage involvement in ARLIS/NA activities by helping to defray the costs of attending the 2014 ARLIS/NA 42nd Conference in Washington, DC. Interested ARLIS/NA Ohio Valley chapter members should follow the application procedures outlined below and send as a word attachment to Chris Mannix ( or Elizabeth Lantz ( by March 31, 2014. The winner will be notified by April 5, 2014.

Not a member? For information on membership in the ARLIS/NA Ohio Valley Chapter please visit Reminder – the membership year spans the calendar year from January 1 to December 31.


1.      Submit a letter of application to the Travel Award Committee addressing any relevant award criteria and indicating how you will benefit from or contribute to the meeting.

2.      Include information regarding any available travel funding from your institution.

3.      Please include a current resume.

2014 ARLIS/Ohio Valley Travel Award Committee:

Chris Mannix, Public Services Librarian, Columbus College of Art & Design
Phone: 614-222-3272

Elizabeth Lantz, Cleveland Museum of Art
Phone: 216-707-2538

Chapter Award: ARLIS/NA Mountain West Chapter Winberta Yao Travel Award

logo1AThe Mountain West Chapter of ARLIS/NA (Art Libraries Society of North America) is pleased to invite applications for the Winberta Yao Travel Award. The recipient of the Winberta Yao Travel Award will receive up to $1000 to help cover registration/travel expenses to support attendance at the 42nd ARLIS/NA annual conference “Art+Politics” in Washington, D.C., May 1-5, 2014.

For further details, please visit the conference website at:

Please note: Applicants must be a current ARLIS/NA-MW and ARLIS/NA
member living in the Mountain West region (Arizona, Colorado, Montana,
Nevada, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming).

For application instructions and additional details, please visit the
Winberta Yao Travel Award page at:

***Applications are due by: Monday, March 3, 2014***

Please refer inquiries and applications to:

Kay Teel

The Winberta Yao Travel Award Committee, ARLIS/NA-MW Chapter
Kay Teel (Chair) and Alexandria Caster